Memories of an East Ham Pesach

By Heather Bieber

Family Haggadah and key rings made from the place names from a Seder

Family Haggadah and key rings made from the place names from a Seder

My memories of Pesach growing up in East Ham are of incredibly hard work.  Even as a young child. I was expected to help clean shelves and cupboards and schlep down all the china and cutlery that I hadn’t seen for a whole year.

The highlight came on the afternoon before the Seder service when my father and I searched the room for chamatz that my mother had hidden in the living room.  This was rather like hide and seek, great fun for a child and I felt very important when we took the scraps of bread together with the feather we had used to sweep up the bread into the garden and burn it all.

The Seder seemed interminably long and our family didn’t process musical voices, but this never stopped them “singing” all the songs. The meal was a welcome sight with all the familiar odd plates that reappeared having been packed away for a year.  I never enjoyed the hard boiled eggs in salt water that were presented in my grandmother’s old tureen (although over the years I’ve grown to enjoy them). Next we had chicken soup with Pesach Lochen which my sister now always makes every year. This is still enjoyed by all my grandchildren.

Passover Lochen

  • Pinch of salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons water
  • 3 tablespoons fine matzo meal

Whisk all ingredients together until smooth.  Heat a frying pan with oil and when hot pour in batter. Pour excess back and cook thin layer like a pancake, turn over and cook the other side. Turn out onto greasproof paper. Use up the rest of the batter to make more pancakes.  When cool, roll up and cut into “lochen”, strips of about 1 cm wide. Just before serving the soup add the lochen. Heat through for a short time and serve.

The inscription for the prize my son received from Heder. We were very proud.

The inscription for the prize of a Haggadah that my son received from Heder. We were very proud.

2 thoughts on “Memories of an East Ham Pesach

  1. Pingback: Passover blogging | Wimshul Cooks

  2. The last picture must be a forgery, I don’t think I was ever very good at Heder! A lovely description of your memories of Passover. Thank you for sharing them.

    David Bieber

Leave a Reply

