Time to reinvent the latke?

By Alison Kelin

Chanukah has always been a big deal in our house.  When the girls were little they loved to decorate the house with paper dreidels and Chanukah gelt and a huge paper chain Chanukkiah.

Latkes have also been important and over the years I have experimented with different varieties from carrot to broccoli, corn…  However it has only been in the last two years that I have completely changed how I make them.  This is the controversial part – I bake them!

I can hear you all saying ‘but frying them is the whole point of Chanukah’ and I agree but when I realised just how much oil I was using every year (I usually make at least 500 latkes) I just couldn’t continue.  So now I just spray the tin with oil and bake them in the oven.   Rabbi Sybil and I have already started a discussion about this and feel we could really develop this further (click here for the Wimshul Cooks version of the history of the latke).

If you would like to join the debate and also taste some different latkes please come along to our Latke Morning on Wednesday 5th December at 11am in Shul and feel free to bring along your own latkes along with a copy of your recipe.

Here are a few recipes you may like to try:

Corn Latkes

  • 4 cups fresh or frozen corn kernels, cooked, drained and cooled
  • salt and pepper, to taste.  I sometimes add cumin or coriander.
  • 2 large eggs
  • 4 tablespoons flour
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil, for frying
  • Sour cream
  • Parsley

Set the oven to 200 C/400 F

Puree ½ cup corn and mix with salt, pepper (optional herb too) and egg. Stir in the flour and the remaining corn kernels.

Prepare a baking tray with greaseproof paper and then spray with fry light.

Then make the latkes by dropping tablespoons of the corn mixture onto the paper, leaving space for them to spread.

Flatten slightly with the back of a spoon and bake for about 20 minutes, turning them after 10 minutes.

These are delicious served with sour cream mixed with chopped parsley.

Carrot Latkes

  • 6 carrots
  • 1 onion (or 4 spring onions)
  • 3 eggs
  • Salt & pepper
  • 2 oz flour
  • ½ tsp baking powder

Grate the carrots, chop onion very finely and blend together.

Add all the rest of the ingredients and blend.

Cook in the same way as corn latkes.

Courgette Latkes

Exactly the same as the carrot latke recipe but using 3 courgettes instead.  As they are so full of water you need to salt them lightly after grating and let them stand for about 15 minutes and squeeze to get rid of as much water as possible.

All these types of latkes freeze well.

Enjoy (You can enjoy many more, guilt and almost fat free, if you bake them!)

3 thoughts on “Time to reinvent the latke?

  1. I started making baked latkes because I wanted to make them with the children at Cheder, and hot oil and kids really don’t mix! My recipe is for traditional potato with onions and egg, without flour or baking powder, and I make them in muffun tins. I add a little paprika, though. People say they can’t tell the difference from the fried ones!

  2. Pingback: Elucidating latkes « Wimshul Cooks

Leave a Reply

